SPLM-IO Taban Deng Gai Group shock being left out of State Governments

By Denis Morris Mimbugbe

A group of politicians belonging to SPLM-IO Taban Deng Gai’s are demanding inclusion in the state governments as they cry that they have been excluded from Central Equatoria State government and fear possible exclusion from the National Legislature.

Speaking on the Sunrise Program on Sama FM 24th February 2021, a member of the SPLM-IO Taban Deng Gai’s group Hon. Francis Swaka said they should be included in all the ten state governments as they have been part and parcel of Transitional Government of National Unity since 2015.

The Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan was signed in September 2018 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia and Juba respectively.

President Salva Kiir Mayardit appointed state governments for Central Equatoria State, Warrap State, Northern Bahr el Ghazal, Unity State and Jonglei State on 20th, 22nd and 23rd February 2021 respectively.

SPLM-IO Taban Deng Gai’s group issued a press release addressed to President Salva Kiir Mayardit demanding a reverse in the appointment of executives in the country including SPLM-IO Taban Deng Gai’s group.

Hon. Francis Swaka, representative of 38 members who signed the press release said they have been left out of the formation of Central Equatoria State as well as other states and there was a looming possibility of exclusion from the National Legislature despite the submission of their nominees.

“We have already selected our own people. We have already chosen one position within the SPLM in government but some people within SPLM Secretariat in Central Equatoria State have replaced our nominee by an SPLM member. We need a reverse in the formation of state governments. We need our group to be included right from the National Government up to the state level. Our group was given one national ministry why? The agreement granted us the right to share power in all levels of governments,” Francis Swaka said.

According to the Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan (R-ARCISS) 2018 Article 1.3.1. Recognizes the former SPLM/A-IO led by Gen. Taban Deng Gai as part of the incumbent Transitional Government of National Unity. However the agreement does not provide clearly power sharing ratio SPLM-IO Taban Deng Gai’s group should be allocated.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *